Monument of Salavat Yulaev – Bashkir national hero (fighter and poet)

His name comes from the Arab for “prayers”. Most of his poetry in Bashkir is lost now so here is one in the Russian and English translation.

Ты далёко, отчизна моя!
Я б вернулся в родные края,
В кандалах я, башкиры!
Мне пути заметают снега,
Но весною растают снега,
Я не умер, башкиры!

You are so far, my fatherland!
I would return home, but alas,
I am in chains, my Bashkirs!
The road home may be obscured by snow,
But come spring it shall melt –
I’m not dead yet, my Bashkirs!

Fitting for a hockey team, no?

Kommentar verfassen

